Through the Looking Glass

Scott Rogers spoke at Lifechurch.tv last weekend about how we look at our Everlasting Father through the eyes of what we see our earthly father as. I have pondered on this for the last couple of days to see how this fits into my relationship with both God and my dad.

I have looked at God through production and consequences. I have seen God as accepting me on the grounds of the my actions, if I mess up he punishes, if I do well he is not impressed, if I do better, I could have done something better than that. God loves me as long as I perform. When I fail he is quick to punish and correct.

BUT…

God does not LOVE this way.

He is quick to love, slow to speak, and fast to embrace. He is not a God of circumstance, or punishment, or a love based on behavior. He loves me (us) no matter what we do. He may allow consequence to correct, but He still loves us.

Knowing this I decided to remove the dad goggles and look at God for what He and who He is. It will take time but you can too. Remove the lens to which to see Him and allow Him to penetrate you heart. Find His embrace and let Him love you.

This week I was sure that I would not pass this semester therefore I would not have aide and be able to continue working on my degree where I am at. God showed me that “Yes you did mess up, and you dont’ deserve to have a second chance, BUT, because I love you I will show you grace and mercy and you may continue what you are doing” He corrected me and showed me Grace. Something only HE could do. I am so thankful for His mercy and His Love.

When you take of the dad Goggles, what God do you see? Have you the courage to do so.

2 thoughts on “Through the Looking Glass

  1. As girls it can be extremely difficult to see God in a light different than our earthly father. My father was as good of a dad as he could be. He did all he knew. However, his emotional absence was painful for me. Through awful circumstances in my life, I’ve learned that my Heavenly Daddy is always there. I also happen to know that His everlasting arms are very comfortable 🙂

  2. I know that my earthly father does all he can and has my best interest at heart. I am trying to look at him with the love shown to my imperfect heart my my Fathers perfect will. Thank you for your very open and honest heart and sweet comments.

Leave a Reply

